• Home
  • News
  • SHS Science Teacher Dane Peagler Named Finalist for National Award

SHS Science Teacher Dane Peagler Named Finalist for National Award

Dane Peagler

Starkville High School science teacher Dane Peagle is one of four Mississippi teachers to be named a 2019 state finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The PAEMST Program is the nation’s highest honor for teachers of mathematics and science (including computer science).

Mr. Peagler, who teaches AP Physics and AP Computer Science, among other courses, said, “Education is not about finding or creating the most rigorous and/or entertaining tasks; instead, it’s about building engaged students, who love to learn, who can take any task and will think, persevere, and exceed any goals set for them.”

The PAEMST program, established in 1983 by the White House, allows each state to select up to five state finalists in mathematics and up to five state finalists in science. One of the state finalists in each content area will be selected as the Presidential Awardee for the state, which is the highest recognition that a kindergarten through 12th grade mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. 

Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

“I am incredibly proud of Mississippi’s PAEMST finalists and commend them for their dedication to teaching,” said Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education. “These teachers are models of the extraordinary teachers who teach in classrooms across the state.”

The Mississippi State Board of Education will recognize Mississippi’s 2019 PAEMST finalists later this fall. National winners are announced approximately a year and a half after state level finalists are identified.