Nineteen SHS Students Inducted into Mayor's Youth Council

Mayors Youth Council Induction

Last weekend, nineteen Starkville High School students were inducted into the 2023-2024 Mayor's Youth Council. Starkville Mayor Lynn Spruill hosted the induction ceremony on Sunday afternoon. The Mayor's Youth Council initiative aims to provide a voice for youth while organizing community projects and encouraging youth engagement in government affairs. We're very proud of the following students, who were inducted into the Mayor's Youth Council this year:

Patrick Lawrence, Padaris Lawrence, Jorian Lowe, Jariyah Lowe, Mariah Malone, Ailani Barr, Bethany Musser, Habib Khan, Chaeyeong Ahn, Niamya Kelly, Isabella Wall, Walter Giesen, Katie Chung, Amy Choi, Jimin Kim, Wesley McPherson, Mirae Nishikawa, Korie Stallings, and Hasini Yamagowni

MYC participants learn leadership skills while also engaging in community service. The group began their work last weekend by volunteering at the annual Cotton District Arts Festival.