AMS, SHS students advance in National History Day

National History Day winners

Fifteen students from Armstrong Middle School and Starkville High School advance to compete in the National History Day national competition in June after placing at the state level. 

Armstrong Middle School, Junior Division
Soyeon Park, Mandy Sun, Giles Jones, Townes Fulford, Jariyah Lowe and Padaris Lawrence completed a sweep of the website category earning first, second and third place for their projects.  Evie Daniels, Tessa Luke, Lila Counterman, and Lia Jones also earned first place for their group performance while Mina Clay was awarded second place for her research paper.  

Starkville High School, Senior Division
April Guo-Yue, Jessica Yan, and Amy Zhang were awarded second place for their group documentary. 

The Mississippi Oral History Award was presented to Karlene Deng, Claire Seo, Adriana Mays and Fiona Dawe for their use of oral histories, self-conducted interviews, and interviews from another source for their project.  

NHD sponsor Craig Wood was recognized as a nominee for the 2019 Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Teacher Award.   The MacGregor Teacher of the Year award is sponsored by James F. Harris in honor of his sister and is awarded to one middle and one high school teacher annually. Mr. Wood is the senior division nominee from Mississippi for his commitment to engaging students in historical learning through innovative use of primary sources, implementation of active learning strategies to foster historical thinking skills, and participation in the National History Day Contest.   

National History Day is a nationwide competition for middle and high school students.  Students used their creativity to develop original historical research focused on the 2019 National History Day theme of "Triumph and Tragedy in History."

Junior Division Group Website  
Soyeon Park and Mandy Sun, 1st Place; Stirring America:  How Three Mississippi Tragedies Helped the Civil Rights Movement Triumph
Giles Jones and Townes Fulford, 2nd Place; Penicillin
Jariyah Lowe and Padaris Lawrence, 3rd Place; Dancing Rabbit Treaty

Junior Division Group Performance
Evie Daniels, Tessa Luke, Lila Counterman, and Lia Jones, 1st Place; The Tragic Persecution and Triumphant Aftermath of the Salem Witch Trials

Junior Division Research Paper
Mina Clay, 2nd Place; The Trail of Tears: The Tragic Loss of Ancestral Lands of the Native Americans for the Triumph of America's Manifest Destiny

Senior Division Group Documentary
April Guo-Yue, Jessica Yan, and Amy Zhang, 2nd Place; A Grandmother’s Voice For Awareness: From The Tragedy of Banking On Tainted Blood To Triumphant Advancements In The Battle Against The AIDs Epidemic

Oral History Award
Karlene Deng, Claire Seo, Adriana Mays and Fiona Dawe; Birth of the Koreas:  South Korea's Triumph to Success Over Its Tragic Past 

Nominee for Mississippi for the 2019 Hannah E. (Liz) MacGregor Teacher Award
Craig Wood, Starkville High School